January

Already January has passed and I have nothing to prove it with. Well maybe except that I passed the N3. YAAAAYYY!!!!
Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 7.16.47 PMギリギリで合格したけどまた一生懸命に勉強します!
I was basically close to not passing but I passed. Now I just need to continue to review all the things I had forgotten so that I can continue to the level that I left off; which is high intermediate/low advanced. So where to start? That’s the biggest step really.

In my case I studied in uni and had a great team of teachers and a good curriculum to help me out in every level that I had been. As a beginner you use more of your own language to make sense of the material and as you keep leveling up you use less of your own language. Until you are at the highest level where you can learn new vocabulary or expressions in that language and comprehend it.
My work life is more stable than before now. It also doesn’t burn me out like AEON did. Apparently there is a study on how greeting with a smile is not always beneficial for raising profits. This focuses more on the service industry (all those smiling people who give you your coffee at Starbucks) but I do think it is true for a lot of English conversation schools in Japan.

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 7.17.14 PM

As for the certificate, I’m not going to print it because I know I can pass the N2 someday. I don’t need to print out certificates every time I take this test. Knowing my answer is good enough for me.
Which by the way, answers are supposed to be sent to you via mail if you registered other than online.

In other notes –> how the test was conducted in Japan verses in US was a different style to me all together. The people were too strict or rigid. They used a microphone in order to speak to the class. Everyone wore suits as if you are going to a government office. And don’t you dare pick up your pencil after he told you to put your pencils down because he will tell you again. That is the point though, they just tell you. They don’t really enforce such silly rules. And don’t forget the paperwork you need to fill out before taking the test. They use this slip to identify you. (Because your ID is not enough.)

In US, people were much more relaxed. They wore normal clothes like jeans and tops. The guy in charge of my room at that time was wearing gym shoes. And he was nice, so if someone forgot a pencil (someone always forgets) he would have some on the front desk. Here (mine was conducted in Keisei University in Kichijouji) they didn’t provide any extra pencils. You could also talk with the people as small talk if you want, verses at Keisei they didn’t want to be approached.

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 7.19.22 PM

Another difference was that since this is a Japanese language test, there are many more locations where you can take them in Japan so the majority of people there may be students or workers. In US, there are less locations to take this test, so people have to fly to different states in order to take the test. Thus their parents or some family member will be waiting in the halls (that have nice lounge areas to sit at).

Overall, I ignored most people and focused on relaxing. I tend to me a nervous test taker, so it helped to have my iPod at the time. Happy testing!

Screen Shot 2016-03-07 at 7.21.43 PM

 

Leave a Reply

